Samsung T240HD Computer Monitor

03/01/2009 16:43

Also An HDTV!

Pros: The screen is large enough to have 2 windows viewable at the same time. I can have a streaming video on one side and be doing email or other stuff at the same time. Resolution is outstanding. I love the size. But, it took me about 3 days to get used to looking at it. Lots of adjustments to customize it to your needs - but you have to use the remote to do it. No dead pixels.

Cons: For me, this was not plug and play, took me quite a bit of time tweaking settings so I could make use of the high resolution and still see the text. The set up directions don't mention that you have to use the remote to switch the source from TV to PC to even start setup. The DVI didn't work at first, so I had to use the other PC cable, do more tweaking and after plugging and unplugging the connectors, convincing the computer it had 2 monitors, I finally got it working on DVI. The cable holder (organizer) was missing from the box.

Other Thoughts: I went from a 19" CRT to this monitor because I watch MLB.TV and wanted to be able to kick back and enjoy - and still see the games. The picture is actually slightly larger than on my 25" analog TV. Love it! I see a lot of people noting that the speakers are tinny. They are at the factory settings, but if you switch the source to TV and find the equalizer, you can fix the sound, and I'm really happy with the TV sound now.  I just wish I could get it louder.  I have the computer sound output to speakers, so that wasn't an issue for me. Buy on the weekends when it's on sale at Newegg! I got it for $439 + tax in August of 08. Enjoy!

Back